Thursday, August 15, 2013

ARC BOOK REVIEW - ALL OUR YESTERDAYS by CRISTIN TERRILL - CASSANDRA CHRONICLES # 1 - SCI-FI - DYSTOPIAN - BLOOMSBURY - DISNEY HYPERION - 5 STARS!

By: Cristin Terrill
Published By: Bloomsbury, Disney Hyperion
Released : 3rd September 2013
Details: Paperback for review from publisher, 362 Pages

RATING: 5 COOL MADE FOR A MOVIE STARS!

Blurb: I've put both UK and USA blurbs 

A brilliantly brain-warping thriller and a love story that leaps back and forth in time - All Our Yesterdays is an amazing first novel, perfect for fans of The Hunger Games.

Em is locked in a bare, cold cell with no comforts. Finn is in the cell next door. The Doctor is keeping them there until they tell him what he wants to know. Trouble is, what he wants to know hasn't happened yet.

Em and Finn have a shared past, but no future unless they can find a way out. The present is torture - being kept apart, overhearing each other's anguish as the Doctor relentlessly seeks answers. There's no way back from here, to what they used to be, the world they used to know. Then Em finds a note in her cell which changes everything. It's from her future self and contains some simple but very clear instructions. Em must travel back in time to avert a tragedy that's about to unfold. Worse, she has to pursue and kill the boy she loves to change the future.




USA cover
"You have to kill him." Imprisoned in the heart of a secret military base, Em has nothing except the voice of the boy in the cell next door and the list of instructions she finds taped inside the drain.

Only Em can complete the final instruction. She’s tried everything to prevent the creation of a time machine that will tear the world apart. She holds the proof: a list she has never seen before, written in her own hand. Each failed attempt in the past has led her to the same terrible present—imprisoned and tortured by a sadistic man called the doctor while war rages outside.

Marina has loved her best friend James since the day he moved next door when they were children. A gorgeous, introverted science prodigy from one of America’s most famous families, James finally seems to be seeing Marina in a new way, too. But on one disastrous night, James’s life crumbles apart, and with it, Marina’s hopes for their future. Now someone is trying to kill him. Marina will protect James, no matter what. Even if it means opening her eyes to a truth so terrible that she may not survive it. At least not as the girl she once was.

All Our Yesterdays is a wrenching, brilliantly plotted story of fierce love, unthinkable sacrifice, and the infinite implications of our every choice.


BOOK REVIEW by Michelle:

When you crack open All Our Yesterdays , you will quickly learn that Cristin does not muck about. Hang on for the ride that will have you travelling time and be involved deeply in a story that won’t let you go until the last page. It is very hard to put down as this book has momentum... and then you are left almost wondering.

You will be intrigued.

You will keep turning pages.

Marina and Em will tell you the story from their pov’s.

You will get ahaaa moments throughout the story and you will be made to believe that the surely impossible is possible four years from now. It’s an interestingly small window that Cristin chose.

Cristin has written a very energetic and intelligent story line. Don’t think too hard about the whole time travel thing and its rules. I think Cristin fed the whole idea of her time travel to me in quite easy to grasp doses. 


"You okay?" he asks.
I nod and drag my sleeve across my sweaty forehead.  " Think so. That was awful."
"Yeah, give me a flying car over this any day."


"It's actually pretty simple," I say. "Do you know Einstein's Theory of relativity?"
.... "Yeah, I didn't either, until ... well." I shake my head to clear that line of thought. "Basically, space and time are really one thing, a kind of giant film stretched across the universe called space-time. Dense objects warp the fabric of space-time, like the way a trampoline dips when someone stands on it. If you've got something heavy enough, like insanely heavy, it can punch a hole right through it."
"Okay I get it."
"Well, in the future the government develops this massive particle collider.... When they slam the right sub-automic particles into one another under the right conditions, the particles hypercondense on impact and become heavy enough to punch a tiny hole in space-time. We came through that hole."

Then you have the paradoxes.

"This person I once knew, he had this theory about time, that it had a kind of consciousness. It cleans things up and keeps itself from being torn apart by paradoxes by freezing certain events and keeping them from being changed."

This is a sci-fi/dystopian. I thought at first this was stand alone but purely going by another reviewer I can see there is a possibility ?? of a sequel. Is this true? Well I should really ask the author. I personally would love one. But it is not necessary. Oh hell who am I kidding with that ending, I kinda want one.


I think enough seeds still lay in this story line for a sequel. Watch for them.

I love the webisode I found on Cristin’s page as it is pretty much what you are in for from the get go. Make sure you watch it.




Now, take a look at this next vid as I was rather perplexed as to why on the back of my book there is a blurb stating ‘The Hunger Games meets The Time Traveler’s Wife with a dash of Doctor Who...’

From where I am sitting, I don’t even see a resemblance or anything to do with The Hunger Games. But, what I did whole heartedly identify with was the inspiration of some Terminator. Without saying, ‘I’ll be back’...well, read the book. 

To my delight, I am so not showing my age, Cristin had made this vid about the inspiration for All Our Yesterdays ( which I just found before launching into my review) and low and behold what was the first thing off the bat...TERMINATOR. 

HA! I soo am showing my age.

But, yes! and double yes!





Cristin is brutal on her characters physically and emotionally, and she will leave you with a jagged hole in your heart.

The last few pages, I had a bit of a ?? moment personally. This book could easily be stand alone, but, I look forward to a possible sequel, because of those last few pages. Now if it is stand alone, I am wondering if we are left to our own devices to work out what happened. Now you can only understand this if you read the book. I may not be explaining myself very well. This is a sci-fi people.

I don’t truly understand the dystopian part of the book as that isn’t really touched that much on. What I mean is we don’t enter that world, so to speak. We don't get to look around it, we hear about it. 

This story is told from the two pov’s and done extremely well, mainly in the present.

It is a very addictive story which I really enjoyed. I thought it was refreshing in the way it was told. It keeps you on your toes. You hunger for answers and you get them along the way. Those would be your ahaaa moments.

You will definitely get some *gasp* moments and some moments that will hurt your heart.

The villain is very villainous. He truly believes what he is doing is for the good of man. I so want to say more but I must keep my mouth shut.


I close my eyes. The sight of them weakens me. I try to remember that the boy in the bed is already gone. The man who wears his face in the future has been twisted and warped beyond recognition, made cruel by ambition and his own perverse determination to do what he thinks is good.

Power can be an all consuming thing and there is a fine line they say between genius and insanity.

I think all the main characters have really good voices. They will get under your skin and you will feel torn like Em. 

Cristin really does work the pov's really well.

A criminal was once a beautiful little baby , so innocent and pure... but they can grow up and change into a hardened, killer. It is hard to separate the person you once knew to the person standing in front of you who can hurt and torture. The person you once loved.

Maybe still do.

I am trying so hard not to give spoilers in this review that I am leaving out the character details but I am doing it for a reason. What I will say is there are a couple of lads and I really love one of them. He is a great character and he is there for Em.


The other lad is written really, really well in a different light, he will play with your heart. 

I can’t help thinking with Disney Hyperion publishing this book in the USA, who knows there may be a movie on the cards. I could very much see this as a movie in the errrr...future. 

Ha! pun intended.

A fast paced, gritty story about love, loss, betrayal, torture, heart breaking moments, action, danger, genius, survival, fear, and a mission to right a world changing wrong.

I could almost hear the dramatic action music as I was reading.

A very clever YA story.

No comments:

Post a Comment

We love hearing from you, your comments mean a lot to us.